Upgrading my laptop from XP to Vista

I talked about installing Vista on my main Media Center PC and I am glad to inform you that it’s still working well and Media Center is looking great.

My next task was to upgrade my main work laptop. This is a Sony Vaio VGN-FE22H, its about 8 months old, dual core with 1.5GB memory (and is Vista Premium Certified so I didn’t worry about driver support)

I have to admit it has been running very slow recently, I guess it’s all the applications I have installed so I was thinking of doing a clean install, but then I thought I would see what the upgrade process was like and if it didn’t work out I would do a clean install as planned.

I put the disk in entered the product key and off it went. 3 hours later Vista was installed and most of the applications were working, Visual Studio needed a service pack, Microsoft’s ISA Firewall Client needed updating and that was about it. Even IBM as/400 software works and that didn’t work to well on XP.

Two bigger issues are Microsoft SMS 2003 Remote tools don’t work and I use that at work to remote on to users PC and Active Directory for Users and Computers doesn’t work but I think there is a fix for this.

So far it’s been a positive experiences and I glad I did an upgrade over a clean install and reinstall all my apps.

So just my HP TC1100 Tablet PC to sort out

One thought on “Upgrading my laptop from XP to Vista

Add yours

  1. I have been listening to your Media Center Show for a long time and never realized that you also have a TC1100.  I’m very curious about the upgrade to Vista since I would like to have the Media Center in it but MS states that you have to do a clean install.  I’m not clear as to what you would lose between Premium and Business.  Please let us know how the TC110 goes.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑